Fifty-Gamer: Melky Cabrera Suspended

Is this the end of Melky in a Giants uniform?

Melky Cabrera, as announced by MLB, has tested positive for testosterone as a performance enhancing drug and will thus be suspended for 50 games effective immediately. The Giants have 45 games remaining and the suspension will carry over into the postseason if necessary.

“My positive test was the result of my use of a substance I should not have used. I accept my suspension… I apologize to the [Giants] and their fans.” –Melky Cabrera

Melky Cabrera will enter his age 28 season next year and will be a free agent after this 2012 season, and should be interesting how much lower his sticker price has become going into that FA period for him. Him being suspended for the first 5 games of the season in 2013 should the Giants not make the playoffs will probably be an overplayed talking point when we have nothing to talk about over the winter.

Melky, who celebrated his 28th birthday four days ago, was having another great year like he was in Kansas City with 159 hits, .346/.390/.516 line, a .387 wOBA, and a 146 wRC+. What would be intriguing here is if the Giants use top prospect Gary Brown in some capacity after his AA season in Richmond is done. That is pure speculation and nobody has been saying anything of that sort. I expect Gregor Blanco to take Melky’s place in the lineup.

Leave a comment