Happy when the Giants win, don’t mind when they lose

It’s the middle of August and after Saturday’s game, the Giants find themselves seventeen games back of a Dodgers team that has gone on such a rare stretch of success in the last fifty games that only two other teams have done it in the last 100 years. It’s obviously catapulted the rivals into the top spot and the Giants haven’t had their 2010 and 2012 magic there to help them keep up with the Dodgers, much less pick up a game against them. I am in the camp that has accepted that 2013 just won’t be the year of the Giants, and a new Champion will be crowned as we head into the off-season. This has enabled me to be much less emotionally invested in the team’s games on a day-by-day basis, and I must say, it’s not an unwelcome thing after all the stress the other games would put me through. So it should come to no surprise to you that I do not mind when the Giants lose, because after all, I am not as emotionally invested. (But don’t get me wrong, I do love winning.)

I could make this post about 2014 MLB Draft Pool money, that the 10th pick Mets in 2013 had a Pool Budget of $6,990,000 and the 26th pick Giants had a budget of $4,712,000. An extra $2.2MM to spend on prospects wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world, but I’m not in the market for the Giants to throw games. We all know that there are still gems to find outside of the first thirty picks, and it’s just up to the scouting department to do more than their due diligence in order to be ready for the later selections, and I am a believer that the Giants have done an acceptable job of that (see: Brian Wilson, Sergio Romo, Brandon Belt, and top prospect Kyle Crick, to name a few). A higher draft pick would give them a better chance at snagging the guy they really want though, and come draft time, you won’t find me complaining.

On the flip side, when the Giants win, they don’t raise their chances of getting that highe draft pick, but in a win you’re usually going to be seeing things click. That is the stuff I want to see. I want to see Brandon Belt belting balls, I want to see Buster Posey going to RCF, I want to see Matt Cain be the type of pitcher where you put his name in caps and put periods after his first and last name when you are tweeting that name of his. I realize Cain and Bumgarner have a good chance of being shut down in September, and I’m fine with that, no point in taxing the stars the Giants have a commitment with.

If the Giants happen to go on some incredibly hot stretch to finish the season and finish say, just below .500, it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world, but with AAA pitchers helping out down the road after September 1st, it’s hard to see it being done. Just like you, I’ll watch the games I can, I’ll appreciate that it’s baseball season, and I’ll root for them to win. I’m just not going to be the fan that gets thrown through a loop if they lose, unless it’s some Angel Hernandezian bad call that costs the team the game. Only then might I mind.

Leave a Reply

